2004-02-05 - 1:39 p.m.

Written yesterday around 5:55pm

Diaryland is being a bitch right now.

I hate prewriting stuff to put there later but that�s what I�m doing now.

Here�s what I don�t understand.

In general I enjoy message boards. I like being a part of them.

There�s always drama at them, always. That�s fine, without a little drama life is boring.

I belonged to one message board forever ago that was just a bunch of bitter hateful people trying to out cynic each other. I enjoyed that for a time. I felt really good there because I�m sarcastic and cynical and pissy and junk like that. The problem is that these people refused to connect to each other on any level other than hate. I don�t mind getting together and sniping at people that I can have fun with but these people genuinely just wanted to hate. That gets tired.

I took my ball and bat and left after poking the biggest bear they had. It was planned. I had been prodding her subtly for some time and one day I woke up and said, today is the day. I�m gonna get under her skin like I never have before. I�m going to force her to blow and then I�m going to quietly disappear.

And I did. Exactly as I planned.

The confrontation was addictive. I�ll admit that.

I stayed away from boards for a short while and then found a supportive little group of goofballs that I enjoy. There was a snit there and I left when the �moderator� who�s never at the board made a bad decision. I got lots of emails asking why I left, there was no grandstand walking away, I just stopped going back. I explained and got an email from the mod asking me to come back, explaining the misunderstanding.

I went back. It�s pretty quiet there these days but they�re a good group of people, supportive and fun loving.

I then tried another message board. My first post was met with people asking me to teach them to express themselves as well as I express myself. I was happy and hung out. I jumped in on a discussion about race, I did it in the most innocent way, just suggesting that everyone should be strong and that strength should not come from belittling others. Seriously, this is all I said. Now I have a small faction of morons telling me I�m racist because I don�t understand strong black women.

Uh-huh.

So Okay. I trotted over to the reality tv message board to have a little chat about survivor all-stars cause I�m all worked up about it and I know you people don�t give a hoot. I had a few good posts, had some fun with some folks and then this one child starts defending someone against a joke a few of us made. I told her I was happy she was defending someone she supported but I was pretty sure he didn�t care what we might have to say about him.

And I got reprimanded.

What the hell is with these people?

Is there a message board out there with a sense of humor about itself? With members who can be sarcastic and funny without being hate mongers? That can take a discussion for what is said and not what it might mean if it had been said to relatives they had a hundred years ago?

People are f�d up.

The end.

click here to add to the 0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!