2004-01-12 - 4:12 p.m.

For Mark...

Some lyrics (the right ones) to a song I sang for him on the phone a few nights ago.

Another year and I'm still here

The grass just will not grow on this old hill

Still I just can't let it go,

I don't believe it's cause I'm cold

Or partial to the crazy life I'm caught in

Sometimes I feel the hand of time

Moving like its body was broke

And it's then I miss your sighs

And the tender words you spoke

Hey, that's okay - come on around and get yourself together

Won't you come on around and hold an old friend's hand

Babe, I promise not to throw you

You don't have to stay, I just want to hold you

Won't you come on around

And hold an old friend's hand

Another year is dead and gone

The sun don't want to shine on this old hill

Or anything that's mine

I don't believe it hurts to grow

Even when the crop you sow is a failure

Sometimes I wish I had no pride

I'd go off and sell my soul

But how do you say goodbye

To the only truth you've known

Hey, that's okay - come on around and get yourself together

Won't you come on around and hold an old friend's hand

Baby baby, I promise not to throw you

You don't have to stay, I just want to hold you

Won't you come on around

And hold an old friend's hand

Oh babe, honey everybody makes mistakes

We feel a lot of life that way

Don't you think by now I know that?

Look what's brought us both back

Now - while the leaves still dance on the wind

While the moon and the clouds come spinning

Will you whisper my name again?

Again and again and again

Hey, that's okay - come on around and get yourself together

Won't you come on around and hold an old friend's hand

Around and around with you I've been

Flat on the ground and up again

Nobody know for sure just when

Everything changes

click here to add to the 8 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!