2006-11-24 - 3:41 p.m.

This is my third entry today. The first entry had pretty pictures, the last entry was CSI stuff and this entry is a special "Black Friday" entry.

There's a big divide between the people who shop today and the people who don't. Actually, there's even a divide among the people who shop today. There's those that do it for the sales and those that do it for the adventure.

I've shopped on the day after thanksgiving when I was younger and I was an "adventure" shopper. I went with my best friend, we were young and cute and not so much interested in getting gifts as just being out in the fray and having a long lunch with many margaritas involved.

Now I'm a non shopper, though I do HAVE to go to one store today, not because of a sale but because they're holding something for me and today is the last day they'll hold it. I was supposed to pick it up a few days ago but half the city blew up and the traffic wasn't worth fighting. So I'll be out there today and it's all your fault Wendiloo.

I heard on woman on the radio say that she hates shopping today but that she and her husband like to have all of the shopping for their 6 kids done by this weekend so that they can enjoy "making papier mache" and other joys of the holiday season with their kids and not have to worry.

I have a tip for you lady, and all of you who were up at 2 AM just because you wanted to be finished shopping early. Get out a pen, write this down. I'll even allow you to share it with your friends and family:

The stores are open MONTHS before the holiday.

ALSO?

Online stores are open 24/7.

I don't understand the rush and crush.

I usually have my shopping finished by halloween. This year I was too poor for that but I got some surprise money last week so I went online and did 98% of all of my Christmas shopping in about 3 hours.

I'll offer you another tip. This one less smarmy and possibly even useful.
Got someone who likes stuff you can't find in the store? Like clams, or duct tape or mosquitos? Something totally random that doesn't lend itself to gift giving?

Go to www.cafepress.com

You'll be amazed.

I bought a tote bag for the Bug with an image on it that to the untrained eye looks like an attractive yet masculine plant. To those in the know it is an egg raft of mosquitos known to carry West Nile Virus.

You aren't gonna find that at Best Buy at 2AM baby.

As long as I'm handing out tips let me hit you with another. I'm not much for the Christmas music, though I am one for older stuff like Dean Martin and Rosemary Clooney, that sort of thing.

The other day I was downloading some Doris Day and Dean stuff and found Dean Martin and Martina McBride singing Baby It's Cold Outside.

Go. Buy. It.
88 cents at wal-mart.com You'll love it.

While we're on the whole Christmas thing can we all get together and agree that from now on when someone says the words "Oh, I don't need anything." or similar they get nothing? It would serve them right. Don't make it so tough on the rest of us.

You want to know what to buy me? I'll gladly hand you a list with prices and where to buy it online so you don't even have to get in your car.

The only thing I can't find is a box of Christmas cards that I like. I saw one in August that I fell in love with and meant to order but didn't. Now I have none. I wanted the Anne Taintor ones that were sold out last year but they aren't making them. The happy bunny ones are boring.

le sigh.

Perhaps I'll make my own. With pictures of Dean Martin and Grissom's chin.

Or maybe special CSI ones with a picture of Catherine: Ho Ho HO!

Only time will tell.

(Now go read those other entries, I didn't spend all that time finding pretty pictures just to have you read the most recent and then wander off)

click here to add to the 2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!