2004-02-05 - 4:23 p.m.

Someone I love is having a bad day...

so....

A little lunchtime music please:

Amoeba Hop

Words and Music by Christine Lavin

Copyright 1987 Blendingwell Music (ASCAP)

Just a little puddle of muddy water

Left there after the rain

I got down on my knees

I looked close

I saw things I couldn't explain

There was all those itty bitty

Teeny weeny little tiny creatures

Swimmin' and sloshin' about

I put my ear down to that puddle

I could hear one of them shout

We're goin' to the Amoeba Hop

Everybody's gonna be there

Got my eye on a cute paramecium

You know the one with the wavy hair

Rockin' and rollin' shakin' our cells

and flappin' our flagella all over

Well the good times don't never gonna stop

When you go to the Amoeba Hop

(That's what I heard... I mean it! I mean it!)

Then I spied a shy protozoan

Swingin' all by hisself

He was lookin' for a partner to shake a leg with

But everyone was dancin' with everybody else

So he was so lonely till Mother Nature

Showed him what to do

He boogied down he did a little binary fission

Split his-cellf in two (and now he's got a partner)

For the Amoeba Hop

Everybody gonna be there

My, oh my, of nucleoli

Have you ever seen such a perfect pair?

Rockin' and rollin' shakin' their cells

Slappin' their cilia all over

Well, the good times don't never gonna stop

When you go to the Amoeba Hop

Good times don't never gonna stop

When you go to the Amoeba Hop

Some folks that one-celled animals

Don't know how to swing

People who say that... are wrong

'Cause I saw a band of algae

Get up there and sing:

"When the red red robin comes

bob-bob-bobbin' along"

But to them it's a monster song!

Oooh the puddle was jumpin'

So was I

I guess I lost my head

In my excitement I splashed it dry

Oh my god I thought they was dead!

But no! They just come splashin' down

Right here into my hand

And sure enough I could still hear

That swingin' algae band Sayin'

We're going to the Amoeba Hop,

Everybody gonna be there,

Got my eye on a cute paramecium,

Look at the hair girls! Look at the hair!

Rockin' and rollin' shakin' our cells

Slappin' pseudopodia all over

Well the good times don't never gonna stop

When you go to the Amoeba Hop

Good times don't never gonna stop

When you go to the Amoeba Hop-hop hop bada

Good times don't never gonna stop

When you go to the Amoeba Hop!

click here to add to the 3 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!