2006-12-22 - 11:56 a.m.

I wish I'd thought to put this in here sooner but hey, I'm not that quick.

Recently a friend told me about a tradition they had in her home growing up on Christmas Eve and I found it so charming I wished that I had thought of it when my kids were little.

We all know how difficult it can be to get the kids to bed on Christmas Eve so in her family when bedtime rolled around there would be a knock at the door. When the door was opened a package would be waiting containing special new Christmas pj's for all the kids in the family.

It was explained that Santa's Helpers came ahead of him and left PJ's as Santa's way of saying that he'd be there soon and would only stop if all the children were asleep when he arrived.

She says she looked forward to those pj's as much as any toys and nowadays regrets that it's her kids getting the pj's and none arrive for her.

I can't tell you how much I love the idea of that. I may have to start randomly leaving pj's outside the homes of people with children with a note from santa's helper.

click here to add to the 3 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!