2006-09-05 - 11:57 a.m.

Sometimes I forget I'm creepy.

This thought was prompted most recently by Brock who, after sending me a very disturbing video of a poor kitty who is up for adoption but clearly high strung (screetching and hissing, very afraid, which apparently some folks find amusing) proceeded to tell me that if I adopted it it would probably be creeped out by all of the eyeballs watching it.

I have a jar of eyeballs on one of my nightstands.

No, not one of those grow a whatever in a jar things, an actual jar containing acutal eyes of various creatures. Sharks, cats (mostly just lenses from cat's eyes) etc. I like it because it reminds me of good times doing dissections. I find dissecting things to be a very calming hobby.

I digress...though really, I don't. I guess I forget that cutting up dead things is also creepy to anyone who hasn't done it. Usually if I give them a little time with a probe and a dead cat they change their mind, but I don't have enough dead cats for all of you so let's press forward.

My creepiness came up just a few days ago as well. My cousin is here from Kentucky. She's from here but moved to the mountains of Kentucky somewhere around 30 years ago. She fits right in there.

While she was here I took her out for a lobster dinner and then brought her to the lab to show her around. She loved looking at all the tanks, looking at the preserved fish, poking at the crabs, staring at the impressive looking columns filled with glowing green algae.

Then I brought her to my office where she was greeted by my head in a pan candy dish
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

and my little plaque

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting and she kind of thought it was a little weird. I guess she hadn't noticed the t-shirt I'd been wearing all day

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

My 82 year old aunt told her that was nothing, then proceeded to describe the dolls that used to hang behind the desk:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

My mom added that they hang behind my bed now with the voodoo doll. Then she helpfully informed Kentucky that they each come in their own coffin with a noose.

I'm made my mom creepy too!

Kentucky's scared, but she's coming over later this week to see the dolls and the eyeballs.

Then she creeped me out.

She asked me to take a picture of her with the sign over my work that says it's in Massachusetts. She said she wants to email it to her Kentucky friends to prove that she really comes here. She says they all freak out when she says she's coming because this is were all the "fags and lesbos are".

I cleared my throat and turned my eyes to my poster of Ellen that hangs directly over my computer.

She got real quiet after that.

And the final way today that I forget that I'm creepy?

I have devil horn barrettes:
<Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting on today,(yeah, at work) no particular reason, they don't even match my outfit, I just have them, so I wear them.

The guy came to work on our generator and told me he was scared of me. I didn't figure out why until I caught myself in the bathroom mirror adjusting my horns.

Sometimes you just forget.

Also, I'd like us all to take a moment to celebrate the Sexy Back to daytime.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

New Ellen's started yesterday and I couldn't have been more excited. Except today I'm a little more excited because it's new Ellen AND the start of Standoff my favorite new show even though I haven't seen it. Yay Ron Livingston!

click here to add to the 3 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!