2005-09-19 - 11:56 a.m.

Perspective is so interesting.

Frequently I write stuff just to get it out of my head. Occasionally I write something to exercize my writing skills.

When I write something to get it out of my head I usually find the writing part so compelling that I feel like what I've written is pretty good right away. I think it has more to do with with the images in my head and how I've fleshed them out on the page than with my actual writing skills.

When I write to excercize skills (if you can call them that) it is usually something that someone else has suggested. A challenge at a message board or something out of a workbook.

When I'm writing these they seem labored and obvious. They don't normally flow as easily. If I read them soon after I wrote them their flaws glare at me and all I can think of is how they should have been better. How I should have taken more time with them, explored one theme more closely, not travelled the roads I did.

I went back recently and read some things I wrote probably a year ago, perhaps more in some cases.

The strangest thing is that I never remember them. I don't remember writing them until I've read them a couple times and even then not always. I don't remember what happens in them and I'm delighted to say, even if it sounds like bragging, (it's really more wonder than brag) that I'm drawn in nearly every time. I'm on the edge of my seat waiting to see what will happen.

All of this makes me feel like I could probably do something with this writing junk. The problem is the complete and total lack of dicipline, which I imagine is the problem for most would be writers.

Eh, whatever...can you tell I had nothing to say today?

click here to add to the 0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!