2005-02-07 - 11:50 a.m.

Let's get the important stuff out of the way first okay?

Every year since 1991 I have correctly predicted the winner of the Superbowl. I have been a Superbowl Savant.

My knowledge of football is extreme in its limitation. I do not know who will win any game other than the Superbowl. I do not base who will win the Superbowl on anything other than just "knowing".

It all began when I worked for a sports store, not a sporting goods store, but the kind that sells hats and jerseys to fanatical fans.

I started working at this store a week before the 1991 Superbowl. Every person who came in the store wanted to know who I thought would win the big game.

I kept saying the Bulls.

For those of you who felt like I do about it let me tell you why everyone is laughing at me right now.

The Bulls play basketball.

It was the Bill's vs. The Giants. I finally got tired of everyone making fun of me. I found out the real names of who was playing.

Every single person around me thought the Bill's would win. Everybody. I just knew it would be the Giants. I bet everybody who would bet. I bet money, movies, dinners you name it.

I went to a friend's house and actually watched the game. I was the most hated (and owed) person in the room.

Every year since then I have known who would win. I have never picked a losing team, though I have never made a significant bet since that first year.

Over the past few years I've begun to keep my predictions to myself, or shared them with very few people because when the home team is playing you sound trite saying they'll win.

This year I KNEW the Patriots would lose. I didn't know who would win. I didn't know who they were playing. I just knew they were going to lose.

I told a few people.

A few people who called my cellphone last night.

Apparently this is the year for reversing all sorts of things in Boston sports.

So I'm admitting it here, and taking my lumps. I was wrong. And I know you're all glad that your silly little team won, and you're maybe even more glad that you get to tell me that I'm wrong, but just think at all the money we could have made in vegas if I'd continued on these streaks.

click here to add to the 8 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!