2003-10-15 - 12:16 p.m.

So Wim.

I dunno why but there are still times that he gets to me.

After all this time, and knowing what I do about how likely he is to make anything useful out of himself, you would think that I wouldn't get that little...jolt when I hear from him, but I do.

I've been thinking of him off and on for a few weeks, since he called me randomly with random things to say. Yesterday on the drive home I was thinking about the time that he and I were sitting on that fire escape at Patricia's party.

No one here, not a single one of you, is likely to know who Patricia is, but it doesn't matter. She was having a party and we were sitting on the fire escape and singing The Rose, though for the life of me I don't remember why. Just Wim and I under the moon. I remember thinking how good it was because I was so enamoured of him at the time and here he was, chosing to be out on the fire escape with me instead of inside the party with everyone else.

I was on the fire escape, by the way, so that I could smoke. Smoking was a big NO at Patricia's house and I was one of the few who couldn't make it through a minute without a ciggie, so out on the fire escape I went, it's where I spent almost every Patricia party, except the one I spent on the stairs in the rain with matt, but I think we've talked about that here already once before.

So I remember thinking that it was lovely being out there with him, and singing with him, and having him choose to be out there with me. I remember it giving me great hope. I remember this one girl who was a security guard at the mall where we all worked, Donna I think her name was, and she had a kick ass voice and she came and sat on the window sill to sing with us for a bit and then had the good sense to wander off and leave us to ourselves.

Now I ask you, if you are at a party where you don't know many people, you are there as a friend of a friend, and there are maybe 25 people in this place, lots of singles and cutes and whatnot, and you can mingle with all of these people, and there are two people, one male and one female out on the very tiny fire escape, in the moonlight singing love songs and ignoring everyone inside...what would you think?

YOu would assume, would you not, that the male and female, singing love songs in the moonlight are a couple. Right?

I'd assume that. If I had never met either of them before I would leave them to it. If I could hear them singing and they sounded lovely I may be moved to the window to tell them so, but that would be the end of it.

Well this one girl, who's name I cannot remember for the life of me came charging out of the window and practically into Wim's lap to join us. We had no idea who she was. She nearly broke the fire escape and sent us all to our death. She was touching wim and crawling all over him. I was snarky to them both and then went inside. I expected him to follow not far behind. He did not. He did eventually come in but was not extracted from her grip, nor did he seem to WANT to be extracted from her grip for the duration of the party. In fact, they began dating and were together for awhile.

I was very satisfied with the concept that Patricia flat out hated this girl. Patricia was the most Zen human being I have ever met, beautiful inside and out, super intelligent and in touch with the universe, never had a bad thing to say about anyone, but she hated this girl.

I wish I could remember her name. I emailed Wim just now asking him.

Hey, the wind is actually making bizzare noises outside my window...how very blustery of it.

click here to add to the 0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!