2003-04-01 - 2:04 p.m.

Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves.

Carl Jung (1875 - 1961)

Driving back from the gym today I was thinking this exact thing, only on a much more personal level.

I was thinking about this girl I know and how she really holds this other person I know in high esteem because of this other person's honesty. Only the other person isn't honest at all, she's just angry at anyone who holds a mirror up to herself. She's honest in an outward fashion. She honestly hates anyone who doesn't make her feel superior. Honestly hates anyone who makes her see herself in them.

The first person, she's always preaching about how much she's seeking peace in her life and how this second person is an example of the honesty she hopes to some day achieve.

This infuriates me. She's looking to a person who blames her every emotion on another person and directs hatred and venom at everything and anything in her pathway to oblivion.

She's not really looking for someone to teach her honesty, she's looking for someone to support her in her constant blame of others for her lack of commitment to herself.

I want to shake her.

I wanted to tell her that peace doesn't come from making other people agree with you.

Peace doesn't come from atonement from people who wronged you.

Honesty isn't spewing at people who riled you, honesty is accepting that it was you who allowed yourself to be riled.

HONESTY is taking full responsibility for your every thought, emotion, action and reaction because you make a choice for each of those.

Then I came in and did a search on google, just a general search for quotes because I was working on my "pooh" book last night and needed some new stuff.

The second quote I pulled was the above.

And then I realized that there must be something I see of myself in this girl that revere's this "honest" girl or I wouldn't have chosen to become so invested in her. I would not be so irritated by her choices.

click here to add to the 0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!