2004-02-05 - 4:49 p.m.

Katy Says Today is the Best Day of my Whole Entire Life

Katy is Three years old

We've been dancing in the living room to her new Tom Paxton record

Katy's got a lot of rhythm when she wiggles, for a little kid, she's got soul

That night when her mom and dad come home

I tell them what she said to me

I figure they'll think I'm some kind of babysitting genius

To make this little girl so darn happy

But they smile and they say "don't take this the wrong way

But Katy said the same thing yesterday

Lately she's been saying that everyday"

I think back to what I know was the best day of my life

It was wintertime

Ten years ago

We were staying in a farmhouse

In the middle of Vermont

The hills were covered with Christmas trees

And freshly fallen snow

Instantly I picture the vivid details of that day

When you told me that you loved me more than you could ever say

The air was a bracing cold

The sky a startled blue

Never before or since

Have I felt that close to you

What does that say about you and me and the last ten years

I've learned to live with your silence

You've learned to overlook my tears

Now this dancing three year old in her simple perfect way

Has me questioning the basis for the life we live today

Katy's probably sleeping now

I wonder if she dreams about

Flying with the angels

Dancing with moonbeams

You are here beside me

You are snoring right out loud

I long to kiss you on the forehead

And smooth your worried brow

Though we have not given up

It's been ages since we've tried

To reveal the aching passion

That for years we've pushed aside

I whisper that I love you

Because I know you cannot hear

I turn off the light

And in the dark

You gently pull me near

Katy Says Today is the Best Day of my Whole Entire Life

click here to add to the 0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!