2006-12-07 - 1:20 p.m.

Let me begin today by saying that I�m sick.

I�ve been sick since thanksgiving and just when I think I�m getting better something new comes along and makes me feel worse than I did when this whole thing started. Today�s new thing is a very unpleasant intestinal reaction to the medication I�m on for my Strep Ear.

Yes, I know, you�ve never heard of Strep Ear. No one has. It�s the single most frequently heard sentence by yours truly for the past 3 days.

I tell you all of this so that you might cut me some slack, or I should say even MORE slack than usual with anything I might say that makes little or no sense. Or y�know if I put things in poor order. Or if I leave this entry all together and lock myself in the ladies room for a couple hours. That sort of thing.

I wouldn�t even attempt an entry today except that Crate has convinced me that I have the opportunity to be timely. More on that in a moment.

Before we continue I�d like to extend heartfelt sympathy to my friend G who lost his longtime companion Max a few days ago. He may have been a pig but he was a damn fine pig and we loved him.

Alright, now on to the meat and potatoes of today�s entry:

Pretend Boyfriends and Why They Are Better Than Actual Boyfriends

I�d like to mention that included with the pretend boyfriends are the slightly less pretend by not quite real �internet boyfriends� with whom we have (this is where I get to be all timely thanks to Crate�s eagle eyed watch on all things pop culture) Elationships which is Urban Dictionary�s word of the day.

I have had real boyfriends, I keep a stable of pretend boyfriends, known affectionately as Dashboard Boys, and I have had in the past, and am currently blissfully and weirdly involved in an elationship.

Allow me to make just one distinction here before we continue. Pretend boyfriends are NOT boyfriends that you make up and tell your friends that you have so that you seem somehow less pathetic. Pretend boyfriends as used in this case are real live boys or characters with which you can have pretend relationships.

My list of pretend boys in current rotation would look something like this:

Jay Manuel
Tim McGee
L.J. Gibbs
Gil Grissom
Michael Weatherly (I fought it as long as I could)

You get the idea.

All of this comes from the fact that while talking to Crate yesterday about relationships and dating I mentioned that I would say no if someone asked me out right now. Even if they were someone I was interested in. I mean, if Brock (elationship boy) showed up in the same state as me (don�t, by the way) and wanted to go out I�d go (probably. Maybe) but otherwise, I�m just not interested in actual boyfriends at the moment.

I might be tempted by a gay boyfriend but they weren�t a part of yesterday�s conversation so let�s pretend they don�t exist for this conversation okay?

Anyway, I was talking to Wendiloo at the same time and relayed to her what I�d said about not wanting a real boyfriend but instead preferring pretend boyfriends who you don�t have to hear snore, or fart or whatnot.

Wendiloo agreed and we began listing the ways in which pretend and nearpretend boyfriends are better.

Some of the ways we�ve come up with:

1. As previously stated no snoring or farting. Also you�re never asked to pull their finger. Be warned however that in the case of e-boyfriends you may get the occasional fart joke.

2. They don�t get upset (well the pretend ones don�t, most of the good e ones don�t either) when you decide that you need more than just one boy in your current romantic lineup. (My lifelong problem has been that real boys have such issues with this one)

3. They can say things that actual boys can�t without sounding creepy. For example I�m quite sure that on the very first night of their pretend relationship Brad could express his love for Wendiloo without her being even vaguely weirded out. The real boy who did this was sent on the first bus home to Wackoville.


4. They�re always there for you when you�re sick. You always know that if you�re feeling lousy they aren�t going to be sitting on the sofa when you get home from work asking what�s for dinner.

5. They never step on your feet when you dance.

6. They never EVER look at another woman when you�re together (or even when you aren�t)

7. They never work late, or have to go to the office on the weekend.

8. They never pick playing cards or fishing with the guys over spending time cuddling in front of the tv with you.

9. They never cheat, unless you want them to so that you can find out and have a good cry and yell at them and then make up. (And yes, I know that�s taking it a little far, but it�s pretty good therapy for when you have anger toward someone that you�re not comfortable dealing with).

Oh there are so many more but I�m sick and tired and I�m certain you get the idea.

It�s best to have the elationship if you can get your hands on one because you sort of get the best of both worlds. They can surprise you with really sweet or very sexy words, but never steal the covers.

Crate and I came to the realization that all these virtual relationships that are flying around out there should make a nice new division for Hallmark. When you virtually care enough to email the very best.

I told Crate that I�d come up with some cards for today�s blog but it doesn�t appear to be happening. Perhaps I�ll hold that out for a late date. Or you could all come up with some and we�ll post them next time.

Now before I go I�d like to say YAY Caridee! She won this cycle of America�s Next Top Model which was exactly what I had hoped for. Not that it actually means anything, I just hate to see the people I�ve been rooting against all season win.

Soon a new season of Beauty and the Geek kicks in. I do so love that show.

click here to add to the 11 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!