2006-08-02 - 11:10 a.m.

Today is an entry for the slow kids. Not much reading, but you can look at the pictures.

I figured I'd update you on my afghan making since I have a headache and don't want to think about a whole bunch of words.

The first picture is the blanket I made for Crate. I didn't take a picture of the "matching" one I made for his cat.

Now keep in mind this is my first attempt at any such thing and there was no pattern, and in fact, no plan, I just sort of bought some yarn and started crocheting:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

After that I decided two things.

1. I hate making granny squares.

and

2. No more big afghans for a little while.

So I moved on to pet/doll bed afghans (there is no difference, you buy it, you do what you want with it). These are the ones I've made fairly recently, some of the images are better than others:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting This was one of the first ones. It's camo, which I'm not sure will come through on the screen as nicely as it does in person.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting This was next. I was learning to make the little balls that are the borders of this but what I didn't learn in time was that I need to count my stitches or I end up with this bizarre shape.

Photobucket - Video and Image HostingThis was one of the early ones as well. I hate the yellow border but other people have said they like it.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting This is one of my favorites. you have to see it in person, the colors are gorgeous, the patter is subtle and soft, all these little cuddly bumps.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting This was my first attempt at a climbing shell pattern and it came out really nicely but it needed some color so I bordered it with little multicolored pom poms.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting I was finally ready to face granny squares again. I just finished this one. I'd be happier with it if the joins of the squares weren't so messy but what can you do?

Now I'm working on a baby afghan with a little hood attached. It's the first thing I've ever done from a pattern and so far it's coming out really cute, I have high hopes for it. I also just learned to make little kitty and teddy bear heads to attach to granny squares so I'll be working on some of that kind of thing too.

I know this is insanely boring for everyone else but I'm getting a kick out of it.

E-beth just so you know, I haven't abandoned your afghan but every time I look for nice oranges and rusts all I find are bright neon orange things so I think I'll have to wait until the fall colors hit the stores and then I'll buy up some good colors for your blanket and get started.

In the meantime it's been so hot here my office got a guard dog:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Poor Ketos, he's really sick of me taking his picture, and he used to be such a ham.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Oh, before I end this, an open letter to Janelle from Big Brother Season Seven All Stars:

Dear Janelle,
Way to screw up the entire game you stupid ditz. The four of you were taking an easy walk to the end and now you're handing the game to Danielle and James. Moron.
Smooches,
OOMM

Oh, and one to James:

Dear James,
I can't believe it but playing the game the exact same way that got your ass kicked out of the house last year is actually saving it this year. Well played!
Can I borrow a few bucks?
OOMM

And finally:

Dear Evil Dr. Will,
I drank the Kool Aid. I love you. I see the light. If you could just perform the tiniest plastic surgery on yourownself and remove that BoogieBoil from your ass you'd be perfect.
Call me!
Suggestive eyebrow waggles,
OOMM

click here to add to the 6 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!