2005-02-28 - 1:09 p.m.

I read David Sedaris' Me Talk Pretty One Day over the weekend.

I'd avoided reading him for awhile because his titles make me feel...uneasy.

Me Talk Pretty One Day is a title better suited for the book of an autism patient.

Naked is the title of someone laying bare their soul in painful catharsis.

Finally I gave in after having it be recommended to me about a billion times at both the Barnes and Noble and Borders sites.

There were one or two truly humorous portions of the book. His dad and the food. That's funny. Explaining Easter in french class was funny.

The rest was just...someone who is being spoiled and told he can write.

Not that he can't. Just that he can't write better than a bunch of other people who DON'T have book deals and who's musings I read daily for free.

Sedaris is a blog writer with an agent.

Sound like I'm jealous?

Yeah, I'm jealous. See what a good writer I am, I conveyed that pretty clearly right?

Anyway, now I'm reading "Enslaved by Ducks" which is worth the read just to hear how Howard the Dove ended up with one of those Elizabethan collars and what happens when he flies with it.

click here to add to the 6 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!