2004-09-22 - 12:24 p.m.

first of long entries for today

I did put a few pages of lyrics up.

You had to be pretty quick to catch them, I took them right down.

They were meant to amuse me, but I realize now that in light of what particular dust bunnies are being dragged out from under the sofa in my mind today the concepts in them would be in direct contradiction of what I'm trying to say.

Anybody follow that paragraph?

You get a sticker. Bring to me your forehead.

Now we push onward.

The good thing about getting old is that you've pretty much worked out what is important to you and what isn't.

You know what about yourself you like, what you dislike, what you can work on and what is hard wired.

The best part for me is that I learned, the hard way, but I learned, that people, by and large, are dispensable.

I was thinking about this last week, or maybe it was the week before, when I was going through my files.

I found a number of cards and notes from friends.

Most of them went something like this:

"I just want to say that I'm so glad that we're friends, more than that we're sisters and I know that no matter what happens we will make it through together and always have each other..."

blah blah blah.

Honestly.

I have/had friends who send me these cards, leave me these notes.

The funniest is that I found a bunch from the Center of the Seventh Grade Universe (COSGU).

Stick with me, if you know me it won't be long before you know who I mean.

COSGU was my "best" friend (I've never worked out what that means, best...) since first grade. We'd had our falling out periods and whatnot but she was a consistant.

We knew all of each others stories and all of each other's faults.

It was the type of friendship you don't get too often because we could talk all day every day and still have lots to say, or we could not get a chance to talk for 4 months and pick up like we'd just talked this morning.

We had been through it all together.

She moved south many years ago and it never really broke up our flow, we sent cards and letters, packed boxes of surprise goodies off to one another, called when we could, then when the internet came along we chatted daily, then with the cellphones we were in contact so much it was like we were living close together again. For a short time we did live together in fact.

Then we went on vacation together.

We'd done this before but not quite to this degree. We went on a cruise.

Hmmm, this isn't where we were headed today, but let's just do it anyway, since it's been brewing in the cauldron of goo I call my brain for awhile...but we're going to get lengthy, so let's take it to the next page.

click here to add to the 0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!