2004-08-16 - 1:35 a.m.

Wendiloo sent this to me as a forward and while I rarely read forwards I was so glad I read this one. My comments are bolded.

YOU WERE A LITTLE GIRL IN THE 70'S IF...

>

> You wore a rainbow shirt that was half-sleeves, and the rainbow went

>up one sleeve, across your chest, and down the other. I'm certain I didn't have one of these. I did however had jeans had the rainbow that started on one leg and ended on the other.

>

> You made baby chocolate cakes in your Easy Bake Oven and washed them

>down with snow cones from your Snoopy Snow Cone Machine. nothing will ever taste as good as what I made in that easy bake oven but I preferred the strawberry cakes

>

> You had that Fisher Price Doctor's Kit with a stethoscope that

>actually worked. I never played doctor. That's my story and I'm sticking to it. Just don't ask Marsha Davis cause she's a big fat liar.

>

> You owned a bicycle with a banana seat and a basket. actually I had a kick ass huffy mountain style bike. I had a dyke bike, and rainbow jeans...could no one see this coming?

>

> You even owned roller skates with metal wheels. that strapped to my sneakers

>

> You thought Gopher from Love Boat was cute (Admit it!) Gopher was a total hottie, who didn't know that?

>

> You had nightmares after watching Fantasy Island.that tatoo was creepy.

>

> You had rubber boots for rainy/snowy days -remember Moon boots (you

>then advanced to Duck Shoes in the 80's) I still have both

>

> You had either a "bowl cut" or "pixie," not to mention the Dorothy

>Hamill" because your Mom was sick of braiding your hair. How traumatic

>when people thought you were a boy. no. I was at least a femme in this department, until princess di came along and then it was off with the hair

>

> Your Holly Hobbie sleeping bag ! wa! s your most prized possession. and everyone was so frickin jealous!That bitch Cathy Hamel even tried to copy mine but hers was ugly

>

> You wore a poncho, gauchos, and knickers. damn skippy. I almost bought a poncho just the other day. I had gauchos with a red "foxy lady" belt when I was 12. Kick ass.

>

> You begged Santa for the electronic game, Simon. no. I begged for nothing, I got everything.

>

> You had the Donnie and Marie dolls with those pink and purple

>shredded outfits. friggin A I did. Plus all the albums. still have all of it.

>

> You spent hours out back on your metal swing set with the trapeze. I did, but I also had the whirly bird and a killer rope swing that the neighbor lady forbid her kids from going near.

>

> You had homemade ribbon barrettes in every imaginable color. I had all colors but the best were the green and white with the shamrocks at the top

>

> You had a pair of Doctor Scholl's sandals (the ones with hard

>sole & the buckle). mine were blue

>

> You wanted to be Laura Ingalls Wilder really bad;you wore that

>Little House on the Prairie-inspired plaid, ruffle shirt with the high

>neck in at least one school picture; and you despised Nellie Olson! actually I idolized Nellie. and not only did I have the stupid shirt, my mom made me the full on prarie dresses and bonnets. I was the queen of the neighborhood I tell you what.

>

> You wanted your first kiss to be at the roller rink. yeah, but it was the ice rink instead

>

> Your hairstyle was described as having "wings" and you kept it

>"pretty" with the comb you kept in your back pocket. I don't think I ever said "pretty" but the rest is true

>

> You know who Strawberry Shortcake is, as well as her

> friends, Blueberry Muffin and Huckleberry Pie. now this was a little after my time. I knew from Strawberry because of my little cousin, but the rest are a mystery

>

> You carried a Muppets lunch box to school. no one carried lunchboxes to school, but I would do a great ANIMAL impression before eating Deirdre's flaky puffs.

>

> You and your girlfriends would fight over which of the Dukes of

>Hazzard was your boyfriend. there was never a fight. I got the good one (Beau, obviously)

>

> Every now and then "It's a Hard Knock Life" from the movie,"Annie"

>will pop into your brain and you can't stop singing it the whole day. DEMON, now I'll be singing it all day

>

> YOU had Star Wars action figures, too. no. but my cousin had them all and I quoted Lea non stop

>

> It was a big event in your household each year when the "Wizard of

>Oz" would come on TV. Your mom would break out the popcorn and sleeping

>bags! < b> this one is untrue. we never liked that movie. I think Wicked is the best thing about the wizard of oz

>

> You even asked your Magic-8 ball the question: "Who will I marry.

>Shaun Cassidy, Leif Garrett, or Rick Springfield?" Leif was overrated but shaun rocked my world

>

> You completely wore out your Grease, Saturday Night Fever, and Fame

>soundtrack albums. So true. I can't even tell you.

>

> You tried to do lots of arts and crafts, like yarn and

>Popsicle-stick God's eyes, or those weird potholders made on a plastic

>loom. my mom was the queen of arts and crafts

>

> You made Shrinky-Dinks! Made?

>

> You used to tape record songs off the radio by holding your portable

>tape player up to the speaker. I still have those tapes

>

> You couldn't wait to get! the free animal poster that came when you

>ordered books from the Weekly Reader book club. Weekly reader Book Club!

>

> You learned everything you needed to know about girl issues from

>Judy Blume books (Are you there God, It's me, Margaret.) yeah, buddy

>

> You thought Olivia Newton John's song "Physical" was about aerobics. I refuse to believe I was ever that naive

>

> You wore friendship pins on your tennis shoes, or shoelaces with

>heart or rainbow designs. and on my rollerskates, with the tongues down

>

> You wanted to be a Solid Gold dancer. and in my basement I was

>

> You had a Big Wheel with a brake on the side, and a Sit-n-Spin. and this cool rollercoaster thing

>

> You had subscriptions to Dynamite and Tiger Beat. I had the Dnamite subscription but bought the Tiger Beats at the grocery store.

>

click here to add to the 0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!