2003-04-11 - 5:01 p.m.

Today has been dedicated to meetings.

I can't get over the excepted theory that men are linear thinkers and women are not.

I sit in these meetings all of the time and I am almost always the only woman.

The men talk and talk and talk and only once in every 15 sentences or so do they actually say anything.

When someone does say something everyone else in the group has to say the exact same thing, only rephrased so it feels like it's theirs.

Then everyone has to go around rephrasing everyone's rephrase, or maybe their own rephrase, just to be sure that they get to hear their own voice a little longer.

Then everyone forgets where they started and circle back to the original issue.

This can then go two ways, either they will return to the same point they got to an hour ago, the point that was rephrased ad nauseum and treat it like an entirely new point, or, and this is a big favorite with me, they can land on the exact obvious being true, not even realizing it and begin the rephrase thing with the opposite.

While they are doing all of this I am thinking, GET TO THE POINT. Occassionaly I am screaming this. Depends on who has the floor.

I can say, yes, we've all decided that "state obvious here" is the perfect way to go, how do we advance toward that?

This will only get them to say, it really is the perfect way to go and WHY it's the perfect way to go which is just such an enormous waste of time it makes me break down in tears and then they all look at me and think, that's the problem with women, they're so emotional they never get anything accomplished.

click here to add to the 0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!