2003-03-31 - 3:40 p.m.

Being taken care of. A friend was just talking about being ill and being taken care of.

I feel better now than I did when I woke up (amazing what a mid afternoon phone call can do for you huh?) but still, being taken care of.

Another friend was talking last night about someone she cares about being ill and her staying with him and listening to him breath. Reminded me of a thousand nights, but I kept my mouth shut.

A full reverie in my head of so many nights sweating each breath. Don and that stupid trap door. Joe and that blown pyro, J and each cold that was going to be the death of him, Jeff and the food poisoning, the skin cancer, the migranes.

Charley and the damn boat. He wasn't mine to hear breath. I couldn't hear his breath, but I could feel it just the same.

Same friend, talking about getting the call, about being in a fog, slow motion trying to slog through the soup your life becomes when you get the call that there is trouble inside your bubble.

I thought at first that I couldn't relate. I move, I'm clear headed and in charge as soon as trouble rears it's head. Daddy's dying? I'll be on the next plane, no problem.

But that damn boat. I almost got hit by a car the day that boat tipped over. It was 16 full hours between the time that I heard that he capsized and the time that I heard he was out, and alive. I can still feel the tears prickle my eyes, the breath catch, the heaviness in my chest. I moved through gauze. I crawled through mud instead of walking through air. I stepped in front of cars and slurred my speech.

And TL. A full year in the soup. Still some soupy type moments.

Ben? Not sure I ever even acknowledged the soup.

yeah, I can relate.

This was about being taken care of. I lost my way. Shut up. All of you. If I told one straight story you'd all die of shock. Plus think of all the intersting stories you'd have missed over the years.

My head is heavy. I'd love to be taken care of today. I woke up wishing I could lay my head on Charley's shoulder. No one makes me sleep like he does. Don can stop the clowns, but Charley can somehow pull the ache straight out of my muscles, he hypnotizes me with a stroke of his hand on my hair.

Taken care of.

click here to add to the 0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!